Does a Personal Injury Extend the Statute of Limitations?

If you have suffered a personal injury, you may have to wait until the statute of limitations for filing a lawsuit has passed before you can file a claim. This question is fundamental if you are a minor.

Getting Legal Help Immediately After an Injury

If you have been injured in an accident, you might wonder if you’re in the clear. However, getting legal assistance immediately after an accident will likely extend your time on the sly. In some states, a statute of limitations prohibits you from filing a lawsuit. In New York, the statute of limitations is more modest. If you have been in an auto accident or been involved in a slip and fall, you have limited time to file a lawsuit. This is why you should always go with others.

The statute of limitations is just one of many considerations. In other words, in Connecticut law, you have two years from the date of the injury to initiate a personal injury case. Your claim could be accepted if you file your lawsuit promptly. You will also have to figure out the best time for your case.

A good lawyer will have the best advice for you. For example, if you have a car accident in New York, the first rule is to wait at least 24 hours after the incident before filing a claim.

Intentional Torts

If you or a loved one has been injured intentionally, you should consult a personal injury attorney to help you decide whether you have a case. If so, it is essential to know the statute of limitations for personal injury claims.

The law of rules is a legal time frame, usually two or three years, determining when a lawsuit can be filed. It may be shortened or extended based on the facts of the case. Generally, the statute of limitations for personal injury claims starts when the victim discovers or should have discovered the damage.

There are several different types of personal injury claims. Some of these include negligence and strict liability. These cases have other laws and statutes of limitations. The length of the statute of limitations can vary from state to state, but the law in New York states that a civil action must be brought within three years of the event.

Medical Malpractice

If you have suffered an injury due to medical malpractice, you may wonder how long you must file a claim. This is important because waiting too long can lead to your case being thrown out or evidence going away.

The time limit varies from state to state.

In some cases, there are special rules for minors. However, the statute of limitations for medical malpractice for adults is generally two and a half years.

If you want to file a claim, you need to find out what the law is in your state. It would help if you also spoke with a qualified medical malpractice attorney. These attorneys can help you determine how much time you have to file your claim.

There are several different statutes of limitations for filing medical liability claims. These can vary by type of claim. Typically, car accident cases have a longer time limit than medical malpractice claims.

In New York, the law allows a victim to sue a doctor or health care provider for negligence up to 30 months after the negligent act. If you are a patient at a hospital that a state agency owns, you have up to 15 months to file your claim.


If your child has been injured due to the negligence or recklessness of another party, you may have a personal injury claim. However, you must understand how long you must file your claim. You can do this by examining the statute of limitations in your state.

The law of limitations is a rule that states how long you have to sue for certain types of claims. It varies from state to state and causes of action to cause of action. If unsure, you should consult an attorney who can advise you on your situation.

Minors have a shorter statute of limitation than adults. They can file a lawsuit if they are hurt in an accident or are injured by government employees. They will also have to file a lawsuit if they have a product liability case. They can sue at the age of 18.

They can also be awarded compensation for pain and suffering and medical expenses. Getting the law enforced against a negligent party is a way to ensure that accountability is restored.

What is your reaction?

In Love
Not Sure

Comments are closed.